Community Practice for Social Change

If you are passionate about social change, the Community Practice for Social Change (CPSC) concentration is ideal for you. Offered in the MSSA on campus (including Intensive Weekend) and in the MSSA online, CPSC is a macro social work concentration for graduate students who want to improve individual and community well-being and focus on promoting social change and social justice. CPSC students and graduates develop an understanding of the context of social challenges and difficult human problems while making a visible impact on people and their communities.

The Community Practice for Social Change concentration will prepare you to lead comprehensive, social change on a broad scale. It addresses a wide range of issues, including

  • globalization
  • poverty
  • inequality and oppression
  • cultural diversity
  • women’s issues
  • human rights

The Community Practice for Social Change concentration is committed to building knowledge, real-world skills and social work values. CPSC students master skills for roles and careers that address emerging social issues, including:

  • community organizers
  • leaders of community-based / human service organizations
  • program developers
  • social planners
  • evaluators
  • researchers
  • policy makers

 

What is CPSC?

Community” – Often designated by geographic boundaries; also extends to shared interests, backgrounds or affiliations

Development” – The process of increasing physical, economic, social, cultural and spiritual assets of a community

Social Development” – A primary focus on the social processes that enable individuals and families to achieve and sustain a higher standard of living

Community Building” – A strategic focus on building networks and capacity among individuals and organizations

More information about the program and the curriculum can be found here.

CPSC Field Placement Opportunities

Field Education is an integral part of the degree program at the Mandel School. Students complete their advanced field placements in approved field settings that provide opportunities to practice roles in leadership, management, program development, community building and community organizing. Graduate students collaborate with non-profit, community-based and government organizations while working on their degree coursework. For more on field placements, check out our  list of affiliated agencies for CPSC.

 

CPSC Faculty

 

Mark Chupp, PhD
Chair
mark.chup@case.edu
216.368.5157
Claudia Coulton, PhD 
claudia.coulton@case.edu
216.368.2304
David Crampton, PhD
david.crampton@case.edu
216.368.6680
Victor Groza, PhD
victor.groza@case.edu
216.368.6682
Rob Fischer, PhD
fischer@case.edu
216.368.2711
Deborah Jacobson, PhD
deborah.jacobson@case.edu
216.368.6014
Mark Joseph
mark.joseph@case.edu
216.368.3426
David Miller, PhD 
david.miller@case.edu
216.368.8755
Sharon Milligan, PhD 
sharon.milligan@case.edu
216.368.2335
Regina Nixon, PhD 
g.nixon@case.edu
216.368.6015
Zoe Breen Wood, PhD 
zoe.wood@case.edu
216.368.2689